HomeNewsArticle Display

VMOC Net-Centric initiative wins NASA award

SCHRIEVER AIR FORCE BASE, Colo. -- The Air Force Space Battlelab’s Virtual Mission Operations Center demonstration team recently won NASA’s 2005 "Turning Goals into Reality” award for Partnerships for National Security. Since 1998, the NASA TGIR awards are given annually to recognize the most significant accomplishments toward achieving the Agency’s goals and objectives in aeronautics and aerospace technology. 

The VMOC team demonstrated the capability to use secure Internet protocols to perform telemetry, tracking and control as well as payload tasking of on-orbit assets. This allows warfighters to get timely information when and where they need it. The VMOC system uses a Web portal, allowing the warfighter to access the system through the Internet and without any special equipment. The VMOC demonstration showed this access could be used to request space effects from a space mission operations center, or even directly from a satellite. 

“The success of and high-level interest in the VMOC capability, led us to pursue follow-on demonstrations. Additionally, we are now working closely with [Headquarters, Air Force Space Command] to support the development of an integrated roadmap for space command and control and then to identify a series of integrated demonstrations to support the Air Force needs in this vital area,” said Lt. Col. Rich Lane, Air Force Space Battlelab Operations Support Division chief.
As a follow-on to the VMOC project, the Space Battlelab successfully passed integration milestones for the Space Apportionment for Effect initiative.

“The SAFE initiative will demonstrate an automated Joint Space Tasking Order capability for 14th Air Force and the Joint Space Operations Center, enabling them to understand future operations and system requirements,“ said Master Sgt. Earl Hopson, SAFE program manager.

This isn’t the first recognition for the VMOC contractor. They also earned two General Dynamics awards – the 2004 AIS Presidents Technology Award and the 2005 Technical Excellence Award.